Menybar 1

SM3CER Contest Service - Rules

500th Anniversary of
Brazil Discovery Contest

Organized by REP - Rede dos Emissores Portugueses (IARU member)


To Commemorate the Discovery of Brazil on 22th April 1500, by Portuguese Navigator Pedro Álvares Cabral.


Duly licenced Amateurs and SWLs around the World.


0000 UTC, 1 April 2000 to 2400 UTC 2 April 2000.


10, 15, 20, 40 and 80 meters, IARU approved band segments.


SSB, single operator, all band.


"CQ Brazil Discovery Contest".


  • RS report plus ’Distrito’ abbreviature for Portuguese stations
  • RS report plus ’Estado’ abbreviature for Brasilian stations
  • RS report plus serial number beggining 001 for the rest of the World


  • Each Brasilian and Portuguese station worth 3 (three) points, unless for QSOs between Portuguese and Brasilian stations, which will be punctuated as stations in the same continent.
  • Contacts between stations in the same Continent: 1 (one) point
  • Contacts between stations in different Continents: 2 (two) points
  • Contacts made with special event stations to be designated by REP and LABRE: 10 (ten) points

Only one QSO allowed with the same station, by band.


  • A multiplier of 1 (one) for each Portuguese ’Distrito’ contacted on each band
  • A multiplier of 1 (one) for each Brasilian ’Estado’, contacted on each band

Indicate ’Distrito’ and ’Estado’ multiplier only the first time it is worked on each band.


All stations: The final score is the result of the total QSO points multiplied by the sum of ’Estados’ and ’Distritos’ multipliers.


  • World Champion - Trophy and Award
  • Portuguese Champion - Trophy and Award
  • Brasilian Champion - Trophy and Award
  • Continental Champions - Trophy and Award
  • SWL Champion - Trophy and Award

Awards and Trophues are not accumulatable.

To be eligible for an Award a station must show a final minimum ponctuaction of 250 points.

To be eligible for a Champion Trophy the station must show a ponctuation of, at least, of 25% of the World's Champion one, with a minimum of 250 points.

Trips for two persons including lodging during 5 days, will be drafted between Brasilian and Portuguese entrants.

This raffle wiil be done , in the presence of oficial authorities, between Portuguese and Brasilian Amateurs that show a final ponctuation greater or equal than 10% of the Champion in each of those countries.


SWLs will ponctuate in the same way as Amateur stations, despite to have a separate classification.

 Log Instructions:

  • Should show, at least: Date,UTC,Call,RS+Distrito/Estado
  • All times must be in UTC
  • All sent and received exchanges are to be logged
  • Logs must be checked for duplicate contacts, correct QSO points and multipliers. Submitted logs must have duplicate contacts clearly shown Indicate 'Distrito' and 'Estado' multiplier only the first time it is worked on each band.
  • If possible use a separate sheet for each band
  • Each entry must be accompanied by a summary sheet showing all scoring information, contestant's name and adress, and a signed declaration that all contest rules and regulations for amateur radio in the country of operation have been observed
  • Sample list of Portuguese 'Distritos' and Brasilian 'Estados' are available from REP
  • All entrants are required to submit cross-check sheets (an alphabetical list of calls worked) for each band on which 200 or more QSOs were made
SWLs will ponctuate in the same way as Amateur stations, despite to have a separate classification.


Violation of amateur radio regulations in the country of the contestant, or the rules of the contest; unsportsmanlike conduct; taking credit for excessive duplicate contacts; unverifiable QSOs; or unverifiable multipliers; the use of any no-amateur means such as telephones, telegrams, internet, or the use of packet to solicit contacts during the contest.


All entries must be postmarked no later than 31 May 2000, and should be sent to:

REP - Rede dos Emissores Portugueses
c/o Awards and Contest Manager
P O Box 2483

(Date of info: March 20, 2000)
Source: Francisco Gonçalves, CT1DL - 1 st Secretary REP

Lista dos Distritos portugueses (20):
Aveiro AV   Lisboa LX
Beja BJ   Portalegre PG
Braga BR   Porto PT
Bragança BG   Santarem SR
Castelo Branco CB   Setubal ST
Coimbra CO   Viana do Castelo VC
Evora EV   Vila Real VR
Faro FR   Viseu VS
Guarda GD   Açores AC
Leiria LR   Madeira MD

Estados Brasileiros (30):
  Fernando de Noronha   PY0T
  Trindade   PY0T
  S. Pedro & S. Paulo   PY0S
AC Acre Rio Branco PT8
AL Alagoas Maceió PP7
AM Amazonas Manaus PP8
AP Amapá   PQ8
BA Baía Salvador PY6
  Ceará Fortaleza PT7
ES Espírito Santo Vitória PP1
GO Goiás Goiânia PP2
  Guanabara Rio de Janeiro  
MG Minas Gerais Belo Horizonte PY4
MN Maranhão São Luís PT2
MS Mato Grosso do Sul   PT9
MT Mato Grosso Cuiabá PY9
PA Pará Belém PY8
PB Paraíba João Pessoa PR7
PE Pernambuco Recife PY7
PI Piauí Teresina PS8
PR Paraná Curitiba PT2
DF Rio de Janeiro Niterói PY1
RN Rio Grande do Norte Natal PS7
RO Rondónia   PW8
RR Roraima   PV8
RS Rio Grande do Sul Porto Alegre PY3
SC Santa Catarina Florianópolis PP5
SE Sergipe Aracaju PP6
SP São Paulo São Paulo PY2
TO Tocantins   PQ2

Please send corrections/changes/new rules/results to:
Jan-Eric Rehn - SM3CER

Copyright © 2000 Jan-Eric Rehn - SM3CER
This page was created March 25 2000
Most recent revision March 25 2000
Menybar 2